New clay sculptures started

I’ve been chomping at the bit to get back into the clay studio and the news of winning the inside back cover of Art & Beyond Magazine with

Lady Liberty               “Lady Liberty” (left) and also selling “This World Becomes That” (right)This World Becomes That

has given me just the encouragement I need.   Last week I started a new goddess piece.  She’s going to be an Earth Goddess, standing on a globe, title to be determined later.  I’ve gotten to the upper calf on her right leg so far.  It’s going slow since I haven’t practiced this craft enough to build easily and quickly–late starter and all that.  I did  my first clay handbuilding in the early 80’s and just loved it.  I did these abstract organic creations with spikes growing out of openings and raku’d them.  Here’s one of them.

#2After a couple of years I left raku’ behind and didn’t return to clay building until several years ago.  This time around it’s earthenware.  I’m loving the challenge and the feel of working the clay with my hands.  It takes me back to my roots–making mud pies as a child!  I was in a world all my own then, living in the country without playmates (no neighbor kids and my older sisters didn’t want to spend time with “the baby”).  I had a great time with my dog and my mud!  That’s when talking to myself became habitual.

I started another piece yesterday.  This one is quite different.  It’s called “Seeding the Earth” and it’s going to be a clay relief sculpture, a 24″ round disc.  I started the center section today and it’s going well.  I’m looking at this piece as a prototype to test out some of my design ideas and feeling free to do whatever I want.  It’s exciting!  I’m considering whether to place this symbolic shield in between the thighs of an outrageous goddess.  Who?????   Do I want to incorporate the bugs?  I think I do.  We’ll see how it feels as I build.  Got a good start.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

